Forgot Login?   Sign up  
Saturday, May 04, 2024

Looking for Layout Suggestions

More
12 years 1 month ago - 12 years 1 month ago #13209 by CaptBob
Looking for Layout Suggestions was created by CaptBob
I am asking for comments about my proposed track plan where I want to run two independent trains and I don't know what turnouts, track, or other accessories are needed to get the job done. Since I've never done this before (although I've read a lot about it over the past few years), I still don 't exactly know what I'm doing.

Attachments:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
12 years 1 month ago - 12 years 1 month ago #13210 by stonysmith
Replied by stonysmith on topic Re: Looking for Layout Suggestions
One simple way to run two trains is to use DCC, but that can add a bit of expense. If you want to stay strictly DC, then you'll have to set up "blocks".. sections of track that are electrically independent of each other, and then you'll have to switch back and forth to keep two trains running.

The first issue you need to overcome however is the three areas where the tracks cross. You're going to either have to find X crossings, or you're going to have to elevate one or more of the sections.

Here is one possible suggestion: raise the red areas, and keep the green area at ground level.

Attachments:

More
12 years 1 month ago - 12 years 1 month ago #13211 by markm
Replied by markm on topic Re: Looking for Layout Suggestions
Bob,
You'll want to look into reversing loops since the outside loop to the right reverses train direction.

Mark

More
12 years 1 month ago #13214 by David K. Smith
Replied by David K. Smith on topic Re: Looking for Layout Suggestions
Before you get too far along and paint yourself into a corner, you may want to look through some track plans that have already been designed with certain operational characteristics (such as two continuous running trains) into account: jamesriverbranch.net/plans.htm