Forgot Login?   Sign up  
Monday, April 29, 2024

Soldering Track

More
14 years 3 months ago #7484 by makotom01
Soldering Track was created by makotom01
In the first stages of a layout using Marklin track and Peco Flex. The Marklin track pieces seem to snap together and have a good electrical connection. Is soldering necessary? I will definitely solder the flex track. My concern is with electrical failure in tunnels. Does anyone have any experience or advice. It is difficult to solder Z scale track. I have soldered HO and N scale layout, so I have some experience.

Thanks again,

Tom:S

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
14 years 3 months ago - 14 years 3 months ago #7486 by David K. Smith
Replied by David K. Smith on topic Re:Soldering Track
If you are going to ballast the track using traditional techniques (wetting agent and a bonding solution), then soldering is recommended to maintain peak electrical conductivity. I've found that soldering Z scale track is easier than the larger scales because the smaller rail profile requires less heat. It does take a bit more care, though, and a fine-tipped, thermostatted iron is highly recommended.

Also, a good flux helps quite a bit. I avoid any paste-type fluxes as they are grease-based, making it more difficult to clean away the residue (and residue can corrode the rail); my recommendation is a liquid flux such as Stay-Clean (available through Micro-Mark Tools), which is water-based. You ony need a tiny amount of it to work.

More
14 years 3 months ago #7487 by tealplanes
Replied by tealplanes on topic Re:Soldering Track
Hi Tom,
Soldering is not difficult if done correctly. Use a hot enough iron, make sure the tip is clean and tinned and apply a little flux. I use silver solder, it melts at a lot temp and does fine. Apply a little flux to the outside of the joint and heat the rail joiner and then apply solder to the edge of the rail joiner. Solder should wick into the joint easily.

Loren