Forgot Login?   Sign up  
Friday, May 03, 2024

Project Korntal

More
14 years 10 months ago - 14 years 10 months ago #5207 by Havoc
Project Korntal was created by Havoc
After years of tought I found a trackplan that fullfilled all my needs: the german station of Korntal. So I started drawing it from Google Earth and an older sketch of the same station from 1981 that still showed some of the track now gone. But with GEarth you can still see very well where and how everything was.

I straightened the station as the original is slightly curved, used #9 and #6 switches from fast-track and #8 double slip. That last is now a big issue as fast-track doesn't provide double slips anymore. So it will have to become scratch build (if that ever works out). Drawing was mede by measuring everything from GEarth, changing the odd dimention to follow the NEM standards. Following those rules put the tracks closer together than using Marklin switches (19/21mm instead of 25mm). Still have to see how that will work out.

Reasons to like it:

- it is a real station close to a large city. And I like the german S-bahn rolling stock. It is on an electrified double line just like I prefer.
- 3 quai tracks and a couple tracks to overtake or store a goods train. With the main quais on the outside, this means I could even let an S-bahn train change direction on the middle quai for added fun.
- quais have a nice lenght, just good for a 6 carriage train.
- some local goods tracks close to the station with good shunting opportunities
- 3 industry connections again with shunting possibilities
- a single line for extra variation. In reality this is a museum line with steam traction. I will probably use it with a cassette and railbusses and an occasional short freight.

Some changes to the original were made:
- industry connections will be done "on the fly" when the station itself is more or less complete. Also when a better idea of what and how large the buildings are.