Forgot Login?   Sign up  
Wednesday, May 01, 2024

Styrene help or advice

More
10 years 18 hours ago #17190 by mhommer
Styrene help or advice was created by mhommer
I wanted a two track bridge for my layout. I decided to modify a pair of Marklin bridges and straight bridge sections by cutting off one side of one set with a razor saw. Please with the results so far but there is not a large surface area to glue the section together. I was thinking of bracing the underside with styrene but I have never worked with it before.

My question is how thick of a styrene piece do I need to provide support and what is the best adhesive to use?

Attachments:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
10 years 15 hours ago #17191 by Guba
Replied by Guba on topic Re: Styrene help or advice
Working with styrene is pretty easy if you abide by the rules. The joints can be as strong or stronger than the two parts being joined. Plastic model cement will join the parts together and it comes as a thin "liquid" type or thick gooey type. My preference is for liquid type, it comes with a brush mounted to the cap. Once the parts are positioned I put a dab of glue using the brush on the side of the piece which won't be visible once it's all dry. Capillary attraction will draw the glue between both parts for a good bond. Make sure all parts are positioned and clamped before glue application. Let the parts cure for an hour or so before taking any clamps off.

Plastic model cement joins the parts together by melting each part where the glue is applied, then when the solvent evaporates away all that is left is the plastic which has bonded together as one piece. Cement will NOT join parts together just because there is glue on one or both parts if the plastic parts are not in contact with each other, it is not a filler. So both parts MUST have good contact with each other for a solid glue job.