Forgot Login?   Sign up  
Friday, April 19, 2024

New with many questions

More
11 years 1 month ago #15319 by Tyrant King
New with many questions was created by Tyrant King
Hi all!
So I have taken on an ambitious build. I'm new to model railroading having been recently introduced to it buy my father in law. I've been building models and dioramas as well as sculpting my own garage kits for over 20 years but am finding that model railroads bring all my favorite aspects under one roof. So my build is of my work place. I work at a zoo and have wanted to build it to scale for quite some time. I will be adding a lot of stuff to it that currently doesn't exist in real life including a Disneyland style railroad that goes around the perimeter. The zoo has a 22 inch gauge train around some parts but since I'm working with z scale I clearly can't use that for this train.
The layout base is going to be in z scale (why else would I be here lol) and is about 10' x 10'.
I have many questions but will only ask you guys a few to start with. I'm not in any rush and since I am a detail oriented person I want to get this all right. First of all are there any good tutorials on line explaining the best way to design a layout for mobility? This way I can start a design split it up and finish the different pieces individually? Is there a good way of calculating supply needs such as track requirements etc. I have used a program but it was pretty confusing even for a computer savvy person like myself. Electrical... I know that's an entire world in itself but any direction for planning and setup would be much appreciated. Ok I'm done for now thank you to anyone who gives this post a look.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
11 years 1 month ago #15321 by ztrack
Replied by ztrack on topic Re: New with many questions