Forgot Login?   Sign up  
Friday, April 19, 2024

Z Newbie From TX

More
9 years 1 month ago - 9 years 1 month ago #17782 by DAZed
Z Newbie From TX was created by DAZed
Greetings,

I am BRAND NEW to Z-Scale. As in, less than a week! Even as recently as two weeks ago I went through the thought process of "what if Z" and decide against it. I have had this sort of internalized debate over the years...always been interested in Z but it always boiled down to hobby dollars and I decided I did not want to take anything away from my N-scale world.

The catalyst was the salvage sale on the AZL F59PHI/Bombardier sets. But even then I resisted at first glance. But it did prompt me to take a look at the "state of the union" in Z, and that was positive. Also, I learned that the F59PHI locomotives were among the best in Z-scale and that pushed me over the edge. I want to model a segment of a joint commuter/freight line and having the commuter sets that run good was a key decision point. Another big find was the fact that AZL announced the 11k Corn Syrup cars, which were very prevalent cars being switched along the line I am depicting.

So, I now have in my hands two of the F59PHI/Bombardier sets, and two other orders of Z-scale items on the way including an AZL GP38-2 (Union Pacific), some Rokuhan track, an assorted handful of freight cars, and an undec AZL RDC-1, which was another part of the commuter fleet on the line I model. Exciting stuff!

I'm not going full-bore into Z just yet. The above items will pretty much be it for awhile. I have limited myself to ten freight cars for starters so I'll get a few more (likely corn syrup cars when they come out) and I will almost surely buy one more RDC-1 since they ran in sets of 2-4. AND, I want to get the feel for how things run. I admit I have not seen a lot of Z-Scale in action so I want to make sure I can achieve my goals in Z.