Forgot Login?   Sign up  
Sunday, April 28, 2024

Just getting started.

More
15 years 2 weeks ago #3952 by newtoscale
Just getting started. was created by newtoscale
Greetings all.

I'm Matt and I have joined this group at the suggestion of several other members. I'm new to z-scale railroading, having tried HO and N scale and not getting very far with either for many reasons. This is my last kick at that cat so to speak.
I'm 60 years old, just recently retired and looking for something to do during the long cold Alberta winters. Gardening takes up most of my summers, but one can hardly do that during the winter.

After attending the annual Supertrain show here in Calgary, and seeing for the first time, and operating Z scale layout, I decided that this was what I wanted to do to keep me going during my golden years. So this past October I started planning and bought my first z scale train set, and I have been planning, building, testing, and asking questions ever since. Having designed my EMPIRE, as I call it, around a central focal point in the Canadian Rockies, I have already made several modifications due to space and have finally come up with a workable plan that, when complete, will see my layout size in the neighborhood of 20ft x 18ft in a T type style and all of it on modules so that I can take it to shows for display.

I understand there are a few z scalers here in Calgary. It would be great to meet fellow z scalers here and share ideas. Perhaps even start our own club. I hope we can get together.

I'm will be running an all Canadian layout in as far as engines, cabooses, and passenger cars are concerned. Most of my rolling stock will be either CN CP or BCR. I even hope that some day I will have a z scale Via Rail passenger train running through my layout. That remains to be seen. The rest will be made up of stock from other North American lines as well as private companies and provincially owned cars.