Forgot Login?   Sign up  
Sunday, April 28, 2024

Track Stix

More
14 years 11 months ago #4610 by Mr. White
Track Stix was created by Mr. White
I was reading about them on a site the other day and they said they are no longer manufactured. Has anyone ever used them? Are they really just like a fine sand paper? I have access to some REALLY fine sandpaper (2500+) just wondering if it would work to clean the track?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
14 years 11 months ago #4611 by Socalz44
Replied by Socalz44 on topic Re:Track Stix
Zac, I have never used Track Stix before. Here is the deal on cleaning track. You can get 20 different opinions and answers, but the tried and true way is to use the eraser type deal you get at your LHS. I use a popsicle stick most of the time. Cut off the round end and it fits the track perfectly. Many apply 91% rubbing alchohol after what ever cleaning method they first use. I don't use it that often. As for sandpaper. I have some 2200 wet/dry paper around but I'm afraid to use it on track. You will get a good shine, but there is also some micro-scratching that will be left behind on the rails. Small to our eyes but a place where hard to get at dirt will fill in eventually. So I believe the consensus re. sandpaper, no matter how fine, is to not use it. M2CW Cheers, Jim CCRR:) :)

More
14 years 11 months ago #4612 by ztrack
Replied by ztrack on topic Re:Track Stix
Jim,

One big caution on track erasures. Many leave grit on the rails. This will get into the gears of Z locos. Been there, done that. You will have problems down the road. I do keep erasures on hand for very tough grime build up, especially after doing scenery or ballasting. These are great to remove glue or paint that may build up the rail. So definitely a good tool to have on hand.